top of page


Donkey and mule lovers formed the Donkey Society of Queensland in 1984. We are a member of the national body, Affiliated Donkey Societies of Australia, dedicated to the promotion, welfare and enjoyment of all long ears.


“The donkey heard the book gives wisdom and ate it.”
- 'The New Land', Ljupka Cvetanova.

COMMITEE FOR 2023/2024

President: Karen Chicoteau
Vice President: Tanja Thomas
Secretary: Julia Byatte
Treasurer: Greg Archer
Donkey Shop: Rachel Allan
Donkey Express Editor: Corinne Nash
Website: Reilly Baker

Patron: John Kunde

Life Members: Jenifer Simpson, Marilyn Summerhayes,

Heike Mack

Hall of Fame Members: John Kunde, Merleen Tigell, Ivan & Marilyn Summerhayes, Sydney Hewison

Area Representatives

Brisbane South: Wendy Look
Brisbane West: 
Karen Chicoteau
Scenic Rim: Julia Byatte

Toowoomba / Darling Downs: Joy Hendon

Sunshine Coast: Reilly Baker

Kilcoy: Faye Brown

Gympie: Rachel Allen
Kingaroy: Sydney Hewison
Gin Gin: Jane Armatys

bottom of page